45th CJI Dipak Misra takes oath of the office

45th CJI Dipak Misra takes oath of the office

The 45th Chief Justice of India, Justice Dipak Misra took the oath of office. Justice Misra will serve the tenure of just less than 14 months, till October 2, 2018.

At a brief ceremony held in the Darbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath to Justice Misra.

Along with the former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Vice-President M. Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Ministers, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad were present on the occasion.

PM Narendra Modi tweeted his best wishes to the Chief Justice Dipak Misra for a productive tenure.
While congratulating a native of the State, Chief Justice Misra, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik called it a proud moment for Odisha.

Chief Justice Misra headed a Bench on his first day in office that included Justices D.Y. Chandrachud and A.M. Khanwilkar and heard a list of over 70 cases.